All about Genie

Hi there, I'm Genie Alisa. I live in Norfolk, Virginia with my husband (AKA the Puddin') our two cats (Isis and Emily) and two dogs (Sarah and Mollie). I am slowly but surely sneaking up on 30. I work for a relatively small company (15 employees) that designs and supports software for libraries. This means I do technical things for non-technical people and talk to librarians every day without actually having to be a librarian. This is what they call "the best of all possible worlds" in professional circles.

I was born in Norfolk and moved to Blacksburg to go to Virginia Tech and get a degree in Communication Studies as opposed to a practical degree like Engineering (much to my father's dismay). After a few years, I moved back to the Tidewater area (less than a mile from my parents) and now have a better job than I probably would have were I an engineer.

In April of 1985, I was diagnosed with Type I Diabetes, a month before my 8th birthday. In January of 2000, I started using a Minimed 508 insulin pump and wouldn't trade it for anything. I now use a Minimed 515 with all of its new-fangled features.

I am an occasional participant in the Society for Creative Anachronism (SCA) and some may know me as Baroness Isabel d'Avignon. We're good people, so please don't make fun of our toy swords.

I started writing online in 2001 shortly after my first husband and I moved back "home" and I missed all my friends. I moved from Diaryland to LiveJournal around 2002 and updated sporadically during my divorce. Because, really, divorce makes you temporarily crazy and who wants to read that?

I sing and hum constantly.